Scopus - Article, Citation, & Research Impact Database

Web of Science Core Collection is no longer part of the Stanislaus State Library subscription.  Clarivate may still grant some access to Web of Science Core for Stan State users.

1.   What happened to Web of Science?

Based on coverage, functionality, and cost, the CSU Stanislaus library migrated our primary "high-quality/high-impact" multidisciplinary journal database to Scopus.  The CSU Stanislaus Web of Science core collections (Science Citation, Social Science Citation, Arts & Humanities Citation indices, 2004 - present) will not be available going forward.

2.  Is Scopus an improvement over the Web of Science?

After review by most CSU Libraries overall, and the CSU Stanislaus Librarians for our local environment, the answer is a solid yes.

Scopus includes all features in one integrated resource and platform. Scopus covers all features within one subscription at one reasonable annual subscription fee.  Adding such features in Web of Science requires purchasing additional WoS modules and archives, each of which would incur significant extra fees for CSU Stanislaus.

• Expanded High quality journal coverage
  • Scopus includes additional journal content (26,000 current titles versus 16,000 title in Web of Science core).
  • Scopus sources are restricted to high-quality titles selected by scholarly review board.
  • CSU Stanislaus would need to purchase an expensive, additional module for Web of Science to include these "emerging" quality journals.
• Expanded Date coverage
  • Scopus sources cover 1974 - present
  • CSU Staislaus Web of Science Core only covers 2004 - present
• Access to journal profiles, rankings in disciplines, and impact metrics
  • Scopus includes identifying top journals (by quartile) in each discipline
  • Each journal includes a profile and research impact metrics
  • Web of Science offers similar resources only through an extra subscription (Journal Citation Reports lists journal impact factors) which CSU Stanislaus has not been able to afford.

3.    Why can’t we keep Web of Science in the first place?

• The CSU Stanislaus subscription to our Web of Science core is not sustainable or cost-effective at its extremely high annual price.
• Scopus includes expanded/enhanced features (including journal metrics) at a much more reasonable cost than the CSU Stanislaus subscription to Web of Science Core.
  • Adding Web of Science features to match the coverage and features of Scopus would increases costs even more.
• In particular, Scopus expands robust article searching, tracing and impact measurement in terms of metrics available as well as coverage (journals and dates)  with a significant cost savings.

4.    If Scopus is not an equivalent of Web of Science, how does this affect my research?

• For advanced faculty research use of Web of Science (article metrics, reference/citation tracing, author relationships/publication trail), we expect Scopus should provide adequate if not not better coverage than our CSU Stanislaus Web of Science core.
• If there are any unique attributes used for specific research (e.g. using the title list specific to Web of Science for tracing/comparison/research purposes), the library will be happy to discuss alternative methods for addressing any specific research need or alternative access to Web of Science features.