LibGuides: SOCL 4700: Medical Sociology: Articles

Start Your Research Here! (Sociology)

The databases below are recommended by the Research Librarian for Sociology.

If you need any assistance, please contact a librarian using the information in the Need Help? box to the right OR chat with a librarian live 24/7 using the chat widget on the right.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations as well as citations to book reviews.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. It includes full text of articles from journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of periodicals dating as far back as 1983, which includes peer-reviewed resources covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.

Medical Research Databases

The databases below are recommended by the Research Librarian for Nursing.

If you need any assistance, please contact a librarian using the information in the Need Help? box to the right OR chat with a librarian live 24/7 using the chat widget on the right.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Plus is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Plus is a core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
CINAHL® Plus also provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4 million records dating back to 1937.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with (and research is traceable through) NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
To get the full-text of articles, use the "Find It" button to access CSU Stanislaus library article sources and Get It services.
MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Articles in medical journals/medical research compiled by the National Library of Medicine. Includes detailed and controlled medical terminology (MESH headings) for each entry, to identify and fully trace research on specific medical topics.
Subjects include biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises of citations for biomedical journal articles from MEDLINE (or queued to be included in MEDLINE in the future), other life science journals, and selected medical books.
The Stan State library link adds a code (?otool=cacsuslib) to tell PubMed to add a Find It! link to let you access Stan State library subscriptions or an Interlibrary Loan request form for an article.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of leading scientific/peer-reviewed journals in biological and biomedical sciences. Includes immediate full-text /PDFs of articles from over 1000 leading biology journals.
Includes the ProQuest Biological Sciences Database with full-text from over 1000 leading biology journals. Also includes the article abstracts from the broader ProQuest Biological Sciences Index, MEDLINE and TOXLINE.

Additional Medical Research Databases

JoVE Science Education: Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
Videos on medical and nursing practice, including physical examinations, emergency medicine and critical care, and nursing skills.
75 videos covering nursing skills, physical examinations, and selected special topics
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary, full-text database offering full-text articles, including peer-reviewed titles; also includes indexing and abstracts. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles published in 900+ selected Elsevier journals (1998 - present).
Providing access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and health journals that span major scientific disciplines. Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the authors' choice of user license.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from a very large but selective list of high-impact research journals. Provides complete reference list for covered journals, robust citation tracing tools and research metrics. Includes selected book chapters and conference proceedings.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text™ provides full text from periodicals dating back to 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for periodicals back to 1984.
Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
Wiley Online This link opens in a new window
Extensive multidisciplinary collections with access to articles from journals, books, and multi-volume reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan Services

Interlibrary Loan Services
Interlibrary loan (ILL) provides access to resources not owned by our library or available through CSU+.