LibGuides: SOCL 4700: Medical Sociology: Health Resources

Health Reports for Local Counties

County Health Profiles

Data required to be reported by counties every year to the state. Once easily available on most county websites, available in two places from the California Department of Public Health - in a simple table for a single county, or a PDF that includes all counties in the state.

San Joaquin County's Health Status Profile
Standard table of health status indicators required by the California Department of Public Health. State's table for San Joaquin County only.
San Joaquin County Health Profile
Health status indicators on San Joaquin County (2011 is the latest version from the county website). More recent data is available on the state department of public health website.

Health Needs Assessments

Local healthcare providers and agencies are required to assess the needs of the community they serve ever several years. Usually led by a board with significant participation by local hospital(s) and health care agencies, the format and focus can vary a bit from report to report.

San Joaquin County: Healthier San Joaquin
Includes the San Joaquin County 2019 Community Health Needs Assessment Community Assessment Comprehensive Report.
San Joaquin County Community Health Needs Asssessments
The latest version is the 2019 report. (Part of the San Joaquin County: Healthier San Joaquin site).

Public Health Services Reports

San Joaquin County Public Health Services Annual Report (2018)
San Joaquin County Public Health Services: Data and Publications
Annual epidemiology reports, community health status report, and county health status profile.
Health Care Improvement in Stockton, California
A report on collaboration, capacity-building, and medicaid expansion by The Commonwealth Fund.
Cited in the medical literature (and included in the NLM digital library.)

Merced County's Health Status Profile
Merced County Health Profile
The latest version on the county website is from 2012.
County Health Profiles
A single PDF file from the state covers all California counties.
Merced County 2016 Community Health Assessment
75 page report by the Merced County Department of Public Health, focusing on health issues but also providing a profile of "social" indicators of health.
Merced County: 2015 Community Health Needs Assessment Report
Report compiled by Professional Research Consultants for Mercy Medical Center. Includes county comparisons with benchmarks (nation, state, Healthy People 2020).
Other Assessment & Implementation Plan Documents
Merced County - Department of Public Health
Includes some local area health analyses.

Stanislaus County's Health Status Profile
County rates of major health status indicators (and rankings/comparison within the state).
2016 Community Health Needs Assessment - Modesto/Manteca
Compiled by Kaiser Permanente
Stanislaus County Community Health Assessment (2013)
See also: Executive Summary (below)
Executive Summary
Charts and graphs focusing on key points.
Community Health Needs Assessment of Stanislaus County (2016)
Similar to the county's community health assessment, this report by SutterHealth (Memorial Medical Center) covers similar topics but written for patients with a somewhat narrower range (51 pages vs. the county report's 230 pages).
Stanislaus County Health Services Agency: Publications and Data
Including annual Public Health Reports and County Health Status Profiles
Stanislaus County Public Health Report
Stanislaus County Data Snapshot

Tuolumne County Community Health Needs Assessment (2017-2019)
Sonora Regional Medical Center / Adventist Health
Tuolumne County Community Health Assessment (2013)
Tuolumne County's Health Status Profile

Health Reports: All Counties

Private Foundation Analysis Tools

California County Health Status Profiles - Individual County Files
County by county reports compare county measures to other counties, the state average, and to Healthy People 2020 targets.
California County Health Status Profiles - 2019
100+ page reports containing selected health status indicators for California counties. Compares state and county measures to Healthy People 2020 targets.
California County Health Status Profiles - 1999 to 2018
100+ page reports containing selected health status indicators for California counties. Compares state and county measures to Healthy People 2020 targets.

County Health Profiles

County Health Rankings
Published by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, provides access to 50 state reports that rank the counties within each state according to their health outcomes and related factors/measures.
HealthyCity.org
Provides data and mapping tools for cities, counties, and zip codes. Only selected data is available for Central Valley counties.
Choose Data and Change Geography, and use the pull-down menu (under "states") to change to county, city, or zip code.

Other State Agencies with Health Information by County

California Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
Only some reports are available at the county and zip code level. PDF summaries (when available) can be easier to read and navigate, but most data is in Excel or CSV (spreadsheet/database) format.
California Department of Health Care Services - Data and Statistics Reports
Includes monthly Medi-Cal enrollment via Covered California (by county).
California Department of Health Care Services - Statistical Briefs
Information on Medi-Cal, CHIP, and the ACA
Adolescent Health County Profiles
California Department of Public Health. Data on adolescents by county including poverty rate, insurance coverage, dropout rate, birth rate, arrest rate, mental health and domestic violence.
Material, Child and Adolescent Health County Profiles
From the California Department of Public Health. (None available for San Joaquin for 2017-2018.)

Health Reports: State & Nation

Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
California Department of Public Health - Vital Records - Data and Statistics
New site only provides Vital Records statistics in one spot. Use the CHHS Data Portal or search the CDPH website to find more.
California Department of Health Care Services: Data and Statistics Reports
Includes monthly Medi-Cal enrollment via Covered California (by county).
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the nation’s premier public health agency.
Look under a specific condition (e.g. diabetes) and look for a data and statistics link. The CDC website has interactive maps and data displays for many different conditions.
Vector-Borne Disease Section (CA Dept. of Public Health)
Reports include some information broken down by county, including the VBDS Annual Report.

Community Governmental Agencies

San Joaquin County
San Joaquin County Health Care Services
San Joaquin County Public Health Services
Specific reports are listed under data, reports, and publications.
City of Stockton

Stanislaus County
Stanislaus County Community Profile
Stanislaus County Health Services Agency
Stanislaus County 2015 Public Health Report
Stanislaus County 2013 Community Health Assessment
Public Health Services of Stanislaus County
The Data and Publications section has some good information.
City of Modesto

Tuolumne County
Tuolumne County Profile
Demographic, environmental, economic, social and industry information.
Tuolumne County Health & Human Services