Bi: BiSexual, Pansexual, Fluid, and Genderqueer Youth by Ritch C. Savin-WilliamsWhat bisexual youth can tell us about today's gender and sexual identities Despite the increasing visibility of LGBTQ people in American culture, our understanding of bisexuality remains superficial, at best. Yet, five times as many people identify as bisexual than as gay or lesbian, and as much as 25 percent of the population is estimated to be bisexual. In Bi, noted scholar of youth sexuality, Ritch Savin-Williams, brings bisexuality to centerstage at a moment when Gen Z and millennial youth and young adults are increasingly rejecting traditional labels altogether. Drawing on interviews with bisexual youth from a range of racial, ethnic, and social class groups, he reveals to us how bisexuals define their own sexual orientation and experiences--in their own words. Savin-Williams shows how and why people might identify as bisexual as a result of their biology or upbringing; as a bridge or transition to something else; as a consequence of their curiosity; or for a range of other equally valid reasons. With an understanding that sexuality and romantic attachments are often influx, Savin-Williams offers us a way to think about bisexuality as part of a continuum. He shows that many of the young people who identify as bisexual often defy traditional views, dispute false notions, and reimagine sexuality with regard to both practice and identity. Broadly speaking, he shows that many young people experience a complex, nuanced existence with multiple sexual and romantic attractions as well as gender expressions, which are seldom static but fluctuate over their lives. Savin-Williams provides an important new understanding of bisexuality as an orientation, behavior, and identity. Bi shows us that bisexuality is seen and embraced as a valid sexual identity more than ever before, giving us timely and much-needed insight into the complex, fascinating experiences of bisexual youth themselves.
A Troublemaker's Handbook 2 by Judy Ancel; Jane Slaughter
Call Number: Reading Room HD6490.O7 T76 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Selected New Titles Relevant to Social Work
The 15 Minute Case Conceptualization by Len Sperry; Jonathan SperryOnce understood as useful but optional, case conceptualization is now considered essential and one of the most important of all clinical skills and competencies. As clinicians look for resources to assist in learning and mastering this competency, they must choose among different caseconceptualization approaches considering those that are both clinically effective and clinician friendly. A truly clinically effective approach explains and guides treatment, and most importantly, predicts challenges and obstacles that are likely to arise over the course of treatment. Mostapproaches emphasize explaning and guiding treatment, but seldom include third function which helps anticipate likely challenges, which if not proactively addressed, are likely to result in therapy interference or premature termination. Research shows that such case conceptualization is essential indetermining the course and overall effectiveness of therapy. This essential task can be completed in as little as fifteen minutes. A truly clinician-friendly approach is one that is quick to use and easy to master. The 15 Minutes Case Conceptualization is evidence-based, step-by-step approach thatis both highly effective and clinician friendly.
Ageism Unmasked by Tracey GendronAgeism Unmasked enables us to see that we tolerate, and sometimes actively promote, attitudes and behaviours toward differently aged people that we would reject and condemn if applied to any other group. It peels back the layers to expose how cultural norms and unconscious prejudices have seeped into our lives and shaped our treatment of others based on their age. Offering an all-inclusive approach, Dr. Tracey Gendron reveals the biases behind our false understanding of aging, sharing powerful opportunities for personal growth along with strategies to help create an anti-ageist society.
Attachment-Based Family Therapy for Sexual and Gender Minority Young Adults and Their Nonaccepting Parents by Gary M. Diamond; Rotem Boruchovitz-ZamirMany parents experience fear, shame, and loss upon learning that their child is same-sex oriented or gender non-conforming. Therapies to help parents become more accepting and foster meaningful relationships with their LGBTQ+ children are critical. Ongoing parental criticism, invalidation, and rejection of one's sexual or gender identity can take a profound psychological toll and lead to internalized homophobia, expectations for future gay-related rejection by others, depression, and other negative impacts. In contrast, parental acceptance is associated with lower rates of suicidal thoughts and suicide attempts, higher self-esteem, higher levels of perceived social support, lower levels of psychological symptoms, and better general health. While most parents become more accepting, or at least more tolerant, over time, others remain partially or fully rejecting even years after learning of their child's identity. Attachment-based family therapy for sexual and gender minority young adults (ABFT-SGM) helps reduce parental rejection, facilitate parental acceptance, and ultimately promote safer, closer, and more mutually respectful relationships between LGBTQ+ young adults and their parents. This informative book combines step-by-step guidance, real-life examples, and an empirically based approach to help therapists conduct transformative attachment experiences to keep these families connected.
Call Number: Reading Room RC488.5 .D516 2023
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
Days in the Lives of Social Workers by Linda May GrobmanSpend a day with social workers in 62 different settings, and learn about the many career paths available to you. Did you ever wish you could tag along with a professional in your chosen field, just for a day? DAYS IN THE LIVES OF SOCIAL WORKERS allows you to take a firsthand, close-up look at the real-life days of 62 professional social workers as they share their stories. Join them on their journeys, and learn about the rewards and challenges they face. This book is an essential guide for anyone who wants an inside look at the social work profession. Whether you are a social work graduate student or undergraduate student, an experienced professional wishing to make a change in career direction, or just thinking about going into the field, you will learn valuable lessons from the experiences described in DAYS IN THE LIVES OF SOCIAL WORKERS. The 5th edition includes updates throughout, as well as new chapters on police social work, library social work, suicide prevention/intervention, anti-trafficking, social work and the opioid crisis, legislative social work, adoption social work, social work education, and arts-based social work. From the Foreword: The more I thought about the book and what it contributes, I realized that it paints a "word picture" of what social work is as a profession. This is not an easy thing to do, given how multifaceted social work is and given the many settings in which it is practiced. This book presents the mosaic that is social work--a mosaic of multiple "tiles" held together with the core values of service, social justice, dignity and worth of the person, the importance of human relationships, integrity, and competence, all applied "within the context and the complexity of the human experience," as stated in the NASW Code of Ethics. -Kathryn Conley Wehrmann, Ph.D., LCSW, President, NASW From the Introduction: My hope is that you will use this book as a starting point--an introduction to the variety of roles social workers play every day. Use it as you would the opportunity to literally follow and observe 62 different social workers for a day. Soak up as much as you can from each experience, decide what you would like to explore further, and then take it from there -Linda May Grobman, MSW, LSW, ACSW
Lawless by Kimberley MotleyIn the summer of 2008 Kimberley Motley quit her job as a public defender in Milwaukee to join a program that helped train lawyers in war-torn Afghanistan. She was thirty-two at the time, a mother of three who had never travelled outside the United States. What she brought to Afghanistan was a toughness and resilience which came from growing up in one of the most dangerous cities in the US, a fundamental belief in everyone's right to justice and an unconventional legal mind that has made her a legend in an archaic, misogynistic and deeply conservative environment. Through sheer force of personality, ingenuity and perseverance, Kimberley became the first foreign lawyer to practise in Afghanistan and her work swiftly morphed into a mission - to bring 'justness' to the defenceless and voiceless. She has established herself as an expert on its fledgling criminal justice system, able to pivot between the country's complex legislation and its religious laws in defence of her clients. Her radical approach has seen her successfully represent both Afghans and Westerners, overturning sentences for men and women who've been subject to often appalling miscarriages of justice. Inspiring and fascinating in equal measure, Lawless tells the story of a remarkable woman operating in one of the most dangerous countries in the world.
Publication Date: 2019-09-05
Policing Welfare by Spencer HeadworthMeans-tested government assistance in the United States requires recipients to meet certain criteria and continue to maintain their eligibility so that benefits are paid to the "truly needy." Welfare is regarded with such suspicion in this country that considerable resources are spent policing the boundaries of eligibility, which are delineated by an often confusing and baroque set of rules and regulations. Even minor infractions of the many rules can cause people to be dropped from these programs, and possibly face criminal prosecution. In this book, Spencer Headworth offers the first study of the structure of fraud control in the welfare system by examining the relations between different levels of governmental agencies, from federal to local, and their enforcement practices. Policing Welfare shows how the enforcement regime of welfare has been constructed to further stigmatize those already living in poverty and deepens disparities of class, race, and gender in our society.
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Work by Stephen A. Webb (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Work brings together the world's leading scholars in the field to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the subject. Comprised of 48 chapters divided into six parts: Historical, social, and political influences Mapping the theoretical and conceptual terrain Methods of engagement and modes of analysis Critical contexts for practice and policy Professional education and socialisation Future challenges, directions, and transformations it provides an authoritative guide to theory and method, and the primary debates of today in social work from a critical perspective. This handbook is a major reference work and the first book to comprehensively map the wide-ranging territory of critical social work. It does so by addressing its conceptual developments, its methodological advances, its value-based front-line practice and as an influence on the policy field. By offering a definitive survey of current academic knowledge as it relates to professional practice, it provides the first comprehensive, up-to-date, definitive work of reference while at the same time identifying emerging, innovative and cutting-edge areas.
Publication Date: 2019-01-03
The Routledge Handbook of Social Work Ethics and Values by Stephen Marson (Editor); Robert McKinney, Jr. (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Social Work Ethics and Values is a comprehensive exploration and assessment of current and future issues facing social work practice and education. It is the first book to codify ethical practices for social workers from across the globe and in myriad workplace settings. Each section meaningfully captures this complex subject area: ethics writ large visions of diverse values abortion relationship and gender issues micro and mezzo practice settings social work education technological issues spirituality globalism economic issues special topics Leaving no stone unturned, this handbook comprehensively addresses the most controversial topics in an evenhanded manner. Among professional social workers, values and ethics traverse political boundaries, cultural identifications, and languages. This handbook will help to make sense of this unity within diversity. With contributions from the world's leading scholars, this book will be a valuable resource for all social work students, academics, researchers, and practitioners who seek a coherent and objective analysis in the abstract arena of ethics and values.
Publication Date: 2019-05-31
Social work practice with the LGBTQ+ community : the intersection of history, health, mental health, and policy factors by Michael P. DentatoWeaves together empirical and conceptual content, written by LGBTQ scholars, educators, students, and allies. Addresses issues of intersectionality with practice, urban and rural LGBTQ communities, and micro, mezzo, and macro perspectives. Provides strong integration of content related to affirming models and methods of practice.
Call Number: HV40 .S643 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Social Work Values and Ethics by Frederic G. ReamerFor decades, teachers and practitioners have turned to Frederic G. Reamer's Social Work Values and Ethics as the leading introduction to ethical decision making, dilemmas, and professional conduct in practice. A case-driven, concise, and comprehensive textbook for undergraduate and graduate social work programs, this book surveys the most critical issues for social work practitioners. The fifth edition incorporates significant updates to the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics and new practice and model regulatory standards used by social service and licensing agencies around the world. Reamer also focuses on how social workers should navigate the digital world through discussion of the ethical issues that arise from practitioner use of online services and social networking sites to deliver services, communicate with clients, and provide information to the public, and what standards will protect confidential information transmitted electronically. He highlights potential conflicts between professional ethics and legal guidelines and expands discussions of informed consent, confidentiality and privileged communication, boundaries and dual relationships, documentation, conflicts of interest, and risk management. Conceptually rich and attuned to the complexities of ethical decision making, Social Work Values and Ethics is unique in striking the right balance among history, theory, and practical application.
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health by Lucy A. Hutner (Editor)Finally--a definitive guide to women's reproductive mental health. The Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health is the first comprehensive text for understanding, diagnosing, and supporting the unique mental health needs of women and others who undergo female reproductive transitions during their entire reproductive life cycle. Based on the award-winning National Curriculum in Reproductive Psychiatry, this groundbreaking book collects the latest thinking, research, and real-world practice from the brightest minds in psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, and other women's health specialties to provide the most complete compendium on women's reproductive mental health and the mental illnesses that arise at times of reproductive transition. This much-needed resource is positioned to be a cornerstone in the burgeoning field of reproductive psychiatry. Practitioners, researchers, and academics alike will gain an inclusive understanding of the mental, emotional, and behavioral disturbances related to female reproductive stages, including menstruation, pregnancy and the postpartum period, and perimenopause. Organized for everyday use, this convenient resource presents up-to-date information, case examples, and practical tools alongside data-supported guidance for treatment. A thorough introduction to the physiology of the woman's reproductive life cycle is included, with focused chapters that dive deep into a full range of mental health conditions related to reproductive hormone transitions. Highly visual coverage brings concepts to life using informative illustrations, charts, and graphs to discuss topics such as * Sexual health and contraception* Premenstrual mood disorders* Psychiatric disorders and treatments during pregnancy, the postpartum period, and perimenopause* The effects of stress during pregnancy and attachment* Infertility, pregnancy loss, birth trauma, and delivery of offspring with major health problems* Managing psychiatric emergencies* Prescribing commonly used drugs, including usage during pregnancy and lactation No other resource provides the depth of knowledge on reproductive psychiatry presented in the Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health. Keep this book at your side for the latest screening tools and treatment options, as well as instant answers to questions about the epidemiology, clinical presentation, and pathophysiology of specific disorders.
Call Number: RG101 .T35 2022
Publication Date: 2021-12-03
Transgressed : Intimate Partner Violence in Transgender Lives by Xavier L. Guadalupe-DiazTransgender survivors of violence tell their stories Transgender people face some of the highest rates of violence in the US and around the world, particularly within romantic relationships. In Transgressed, Xavier L. Guadalupe-Diaz offers a ground-breaking examination of intimate partner violence in the lives of transgender people. Drawing on interviews and written accounts from transgender survivors of intimate partner violence, he sheds much-needed light on the dynamics of abuse that entrap trans partners in violent relationships. Transgressed shows how rigidly gendered discussions of violence have served to marginalize and silence stories of abuse. Ultimately, these stories of survival follow their unique journeys as they navigate--and break free--from the cycle of abuse, providing us with a better understanding of their experiences. An emotionally compelling read, Transgressed offers new ways of understanding the complexities of intimate partner violence through the eyes of transgender survivors.