Text Citations
Footnotes appear at the end of a page, while endnotes appear at the end of an article (671). A footnote or an endnote generally lists the author, title, and facts of publication, in that order (661). Notes, whether footnotes or endnotes, should be numbered consecutively with superscript (noted below as Sup. no.; Ex: 1), beginning with 1, throughout each article (666). Placement of a note number should be at the end of a sentence or clause (666).
Footnote: For ease of reference, footnotes are preferred by readers, however, a page of all footnotes is daunting (673).
Endnote: With the main heading of 'Notes' at the end of an article or chapter, the flexibility to use endnotes are less intimidating despite the challenge of finding a particular note (673).
DISCLAIMER: This citation style requires format structure (hanging indent) which is unable to be properly displayed here. If you would like more information or have other questions, please contact us!
Bibliography
All sources to be included in a bibliography are alphabetically arranged in a single list by the last names of authors (685).
Book (695):
Sup. no. First name Last name, Title of Container (Location: Publisher, Year).
Last name, First name. Title of Container. Location: Publisher, Year.
Note:
1. Richard A. Berk, Water Shortage: Lessons in Conservation from the Great California Drought, 1976-1977 (Cambridge, Mass.: Abt Books, 1981).
Bibliographic entry:
Berk, Richard A. Water Shortage: Lessons in Conservation from the Great California Drought, 1976-1977. Cambridge, Mass.: Abt Books, 1981.
Web page (753):
Sup. no. First name Last name, "Title of Source," Publisher, Publication AND/OR Access date, URL.
Last name, First name. "Title of Source." Publisher. Publication AND/OR Access date. URL.
Note:
2. California Department of Fish and Wildlife, "Coho Salmon," Fisheries Branch, Accessed June 20, 2018. https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Fishes/Coho-Salmon.
Bibliographic entry:
California Department of Fish and Wildlife. "Coho Salmon." Fisheries Branch. Accessed June 20, 2018. https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Fishes/Coho-Salmon.
Journal article retrieved from an online database with DOI (730):
Sup. no. First name Last name, "Title of Source," Title of Container Volume number, Issue number (presented as no.) (Year): Page numbers, URL.
Last name, First name. "Title of Source," Title of Container Volume number, Issue number (presented as no.) (Year): Page numbers. URL.
Note:
3. Michelle L. Hladlik et al., "Concentrations and Loads of Suspended Sediment-associated Pesticides in the San Joaquin River, California and Tributaries during Storm Events," Science of the Total Environment 408, no. 2 (2009): 356-64, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2009.09.040.
Bibliographic entry:
Hladik, Michelle L., Domagalski, Joseph L., and Kuivila, Kathryn M. "Concentrations and Loads of Suspended Sediment-associated Pesticides in the San Joaquin River, California and Tributaries during Storm Events." Science of the Total Environment 408, no. 2 (2009): 356-64. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2009.09.040.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th EditionLocation: Library 222, 2nd Floor
Phone:(209) 667-3642
Email: writingcenter@csustan.edu
Text Citations
The author's last name, publication date, and page number when applicable, are needed within parenthesis to cite sources in text (787).
One author: Citing sources in text includes author's last name, publication date, and a page number (787). Ex: (Taylor 2005, 56)
No author: If the author is unknown, the note should begin with the title (801). Ex: (Quest for Redemption 2007)
Multiple authors:
Two authors (790): Combine the last names of both authors with and (790). Ex: (Wagner and Clarke 1999, 5)
Three authors: Two or three authors of the same work are listed in the order used on the title page (695). Ex: (Kern, Cornwell, and Jones 1999,101)
More than three authors: For more than three authors, only the name of the first author is used, followed by et al (696). Ex: (Williams et al. 2007, 32)
DISCLAIMER: This citation style requires format structure (hanging indent) which is unable to be properly displayed here. If you would like more information or have other questions, please contact us!
Reference List
The year of publication is after the author's name, which makes it easy to follow a text citation to the corresponding source (787).
Book (790):
Last name, First Name M. Year. Title of Container. Location: Publisher.
Ex:
Berk, Richard A. 1981. Water Shortage: Lessons in Conservation from the Great California Drought, 1976-1977. Cambridge: Abt Books.
Web page (808):
Last name, First name M. Year. "Title of Source." Publisher. Date of access. URL.
Ex:
California Department of Fish and Wildlife. 2017. "Coho Salmon." Fisheries Branch. Accessed June 20. https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Fishes/Coho-Salmon.
Journal article from an online database with DOI (792):
Last name, First name M., First name M. Last name, and First name M. Last name. Year. "Title of Source." Title of Container Volume number (Issue number): Page numbers. URL.
Ex:
Hladik, Michelle L., Joseph L. Domagalski, and Kathryn M. Kuivila. 2009. "Concentrations and Loads of Suspended Sediment-associated Pesticides in the San Joaquin River, California and Tributaries during Storm Events." Science of the Total Environment 408 (2): 356-64. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2009.09.040.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th EditionCitation help using Credo Information Literacy Core!
If you need any assistance please text, chat, call, or visit us in-person or visit our Credo Information Literacy Core guide.
Location: Library 222, 2nd Floor
Phone:(209) 667-3642
Email: writingcenter@csustan.edu