The databases below are recommended by the Research Librarian for Communication Studies.
If you need any assistance, please contact a librarian using the information in the Need Help? box to the right OR chat with a librarian live 24/7 using the chat widget on the right.
Communication Source (including Communication & Mass Media Complete) provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for journals.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. It includes full text of articles from journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of periodicals dating as far back as 1983, which includes peer-reviewed resources covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega includes indexing for periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. PDF page images of full-text articles provide access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article.
Multi-disciplinary, full-text database offering full-text articles, including peer-reviewed titles; also includes indexing and abstracts. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
General Science Full Text™ provides full text from periodicals dating back to 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for periodicals back to 1984.
APA PsycInfo provides access to abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from a very large but selective list of high-impact research journals. Provides complete reference list for covered journals, robust citation tracing tools and research metrics. Includes selected book chapters and conference proceedings.
