LibGuides: CJ 2255 Methods of Criminal Justice Inquiry; CJ 3170 Criminal Justice Research Methods: Mass Media

US News & Newspaper Sources

PBS NewsHour
The PBS NewsHour is an American daily evening television news program that is broadcast on the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
NPR: National Public Radio
National Public Radio (NPR) is an American privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization that serves as a national syndicator to a network of 900 public radio stations in the U.S.
AP: Associated Press
The Associated Press (AP) is an American multinational nonprofit news agency headquartered in New York City, and operated as a cooperative, unincorporated association. The AP is owned by its contributing newspapers, radio, and television stations in the United States, all of which contribute stories to the AP and use material written by its staff journalists.

Newspaper websites and library databases may include every article published in an issue of a newspaper, but provide the full-text of selected articles.Users connecting from off-campus will be asked for a login and password.

New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the historical New York Times from 1851 (through five years ago).
Covers through five years ago. Use the ProQuest Global Newsstream for articles from the most recent years.

Limited digital access

San Jose Mercury News
Limited availability in Proquest US and Global Newsstream
Modesto Bee
Turlock Journal
Sacramento Bee (historical microfilm)
San Francisco Chronicle (historical micorfilm)
Signal Archive
Archive of CSU Stanislaus Student Newspaper
1961-2020, 2007 - present

Newspapers by state: Wikipedia

International Newspapers

ProQuest (Stan State Databases) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In order to limit to International News, click on the database list, (upper left), and select only Global Newsstream.
Topic coverage includes business, criminal justice, education, philosophy, and social work. Full-text of social science and humanities dissertations are also available.

Aljazeera English
allAfrica.com
Provides access to the full text of over 130 African newspapers and magazines, including articles in French. Covers the entire African continent.
BBC News
British Broadcasting Corporation. The public purposes are set out by the Royal Charter and Agreement.
CBC: Canadian Broadcasting
CBC/Radio-Canada is there, informing, enlightening and entertaining, sharing Canada’s journey step by step, day by day, with the news, content and commentary and culture.
The Guardian
British national daily newspaper
PR Newswire
International news releases. Company is registered in England.
Reuters
Spanish Language Newspapers
Links to websites of key newspapers in Latin America and Spain.
Compiled by the MIT Library.
The Times of India
Xinhua English
Xinhua s the official press agency of the People's Republic of China.

Research Help with Credo Core

Research Help with Credo Core
Master List of Credo Information Literacy Core Online Modules

Local & California Newspapers

News & Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Newsstream (US and Global) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Gale General Onefile This link opens in a new window
Users will find articles on current events, business and industry trends, arts and sciences, popular culture, sports, hobbies, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete collection includes the module Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Together, these resources present an unmatched, comprehensive, full-text collection.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers through five years ago. Use the ProQuest Global Newsstream for articles from the most recent years.