Faculty - Linking to Online Resources: Faculty - Linking to Online Resources

Basic Format    |    Journal Articles    |    Why use special links?    |    Help

Use the following instructions to link to University Library online resources to provide access to Library online subscriptions (without the publisher prompting the user to pay a fee).

Basic Linking Format: 

1. Go to the library's databases page 
2. Copy the URL for the desired resource. (Right click on the desired link and "Copy Shortcut" "Copy link address" or "Copy Link Location" )
3. Paste the URL in the desired spot. 

Linking to Specific Journal Articles:

Articles Listed in the "Search Library Resources" service

Search Library Resources (main search box on home page)

Find the entry for the desired article.

Make sure it says "Full Text Available"

Choose:  Save this record

The icon under the record should then say: Temporarily Saved OR Record saved

In the upper right corner, go to: My Saved Records

Choose: Email Records to Yourself -OR- Export Records to Blackboard

Articles with a DOI

Please note: The DOI server will only work for articles that are part of journal titles part of Library subscriptions directly from the publisher. Using the DOI service (dx.doi.org)  for non-subscribed articles or Library subscriptions from other, "aggregator" sources (e.g. EBSCOHost, ProQuest) will usually return only an abstract of the article.

Instructions: Put together the proxy server string, the DOI server, and the DOI itself. DOIs are often found with the full-text of an online article available via the publisher's website, in the citation to an article in a library database, or at the bottom of the first page of a printed journal article.

• Proxy server: http://libproxy.csustan.edu/login?url=
• DOI server: http://dx.doi.org/
• Example DOI: 10.1177/0898264308315875

Example:http://libproxy.csustan.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0898264308315875

Articles from an EBSCO Full-Text Resource

Full-text resources available from EBSCO include Academic Search Elite, CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, Communication Source, and PsycARTICLES.

Instructions:

You should be able to simply copy and paste the "Permalink" found by clicking the option on the right side of a detailed record/abstract screen, and then copying the Permalink across the top of the title.

Example: http://libproxy.csustan.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=94145335&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Articles from a ProQUEST Full-Text Resource

Full-text resources available from ProQuest include ABI/INFORM, Ethnic NewsWatch, Gender Watch, and ProQuest Newspapers.

Instructions:

You should be able to simply copy and paste the Document URL found towards the bottom of an "Abstract/Detail" screen for an article.

Example: http://libproxy.csustan.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com.libproxy.csustan.edu/docview/195504619?accountid=10364

Why Use These Links?

The library subscribes to dozens of online research databases and electronic collections which provide access to the full-text of millions of journal articles and thousands of books online. Almost all of these resources are not available for free to the general public, but are only accessible through the library's subscription. When accessed from a computer physically located on the CSU Stanislaus campus, the publisher provides free access because the University Library has paid for the subscription. For computers that are off-campus, a special link must be used which prompts CSU Stanislaus students, faculty and staff to provide their ID number. This allows the library to "authenticate" the user, providing them free access to the online resource using the library's subscription (via a device called a proxy server).

For More Help:

For assistance with creating these links, call the Reference Desk (209) 667-3233 or contact John Brandt x6563 or jbrandt@csustan.edu.