Keywords are the words or short phrases you will enter into the search bar of OneSearch or other databases to find research materials. They work similar to tags or hashtags in that books, articles, and other research materials are tagged with keywords to help users find the content more easily.
These words, sometimes called search terms, represent the main subject areas of your research topic or question to help you find articles, books, or other media.
The process of selecting these keywords includes the following:
Useful Tip: Stay away from filler words that connect your main topics but don't provide any context (examples: explain, compare, contrast, assess)
Users connecting from off campus will be asked for a login and password.
Global Newsstream includes ProQuest US, Canadian, and International Newsstream. For the U.S., access to current content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s, with top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Selective coverage of Canadian and international news sources.
Gale Onefile features access to a wide range of full-text titles, indexes, and abstracts from prestigious general-interest sources. It integrates magazines, newspaper articles, children's magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books, and more.
Text of articles and selected graphics from the national "paper of record" in the U.S. (East Coast Late Edition covering 1980 - present).
Full-text of the historical New York Times from 1851 (through five years ago).
Use the handout linked below for tips on finding articles for your research topic.
