* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home

How to Find Tests, Scales, and Instruments

The CSU Stanislaus Library does not have a separate collection of tests, but we do have a number of sources in our collection relating to tests, scales, and instruments. Some of these sources contain the full text of the tests themselves, while others describe the tests and provide information about them.
Most Useful:
Sources for Full-Text Test Instruments
Identifying Tests: Citations, Reviews, and Abstracts
More Strategies for Finding Tests
Other Helpful Resources
Finding Research / Articles Using or Referencing Tests
Availability of Tests
APA's guide to finding tests
Tests and Measures: Selected Web Resources
Key Resources:
Mental Measurements Yearbook
ETS Test Link
Test Review Locator
Tests in Print (Ref / LB 3051 .T47x)
PsycINFO
ERIC

About the Availability of Tests:

"Published" test instruments, scales and measures are generally only available from a commercial publisher for a fee. Sources such as the Mental Measurements Yearbook and the ETS Test Link identify publishers of individual instruments.

"Unpublished" or "Non-Commercial" tests are sometimes reproduced in books or academic journal articles. The library has a number of full-text sources for unpublished tests.

Sources for Full-text Test Instruments

Note: The copyright for "non-commercial" instruments is generally held by the creator of the test. According to the American Psychological Association (APA), researchers must contact the author for permission to use a copyrighted test.

Assessing Alcohol Problems:  A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers

US Docs / HE 20.8308/2:4/2003

Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook.

P 91.3 .C62 1994

ERIC database

To identify articles and reports listed in ERIC which include the full-text of tests/questionnaires, search for the word tests in "Publication Type".

Experience of Work: A Compendium and Review of 249 Measures and their Use.

HF 5549.5 .A83 E9 1981

Handbook of Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Research and Evaluation Instruments.

Ref / HQ 759.4 .H367 1993

Handbook of Marketing Scales: Multi-Item Measures for Marketing and Consumer Behavior Research.

Ref / HF 5415.3 .B323 1999

Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy.

RC 488.5 .F73 1987

Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement. 6th ed.

H 62 .M44 2002

Handbook of Scales for Research in Crime and Delinquency.

HV 9274 .B76 1983

Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations. 2 v.

Ref / BF 176 .H37 1996

Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook. 2nd ed. 2 v.

Ref / BF 176 .C66 2000

Measures of Occupational Attitudes and Occupational Characteristics.

JA 74.5 .R6 App. A

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes. (Accompanying index.)

Ref / BF 698.4 .M38 1990

Measures of Political Attitudes.

Ref / JA 74.5 .M43 1999

Measures of Social Psychological Attitudes.

JA74.5 .R6 Appx. B

Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales Questionnaires.

RA 408.5 .M38 1996

Outcome Measures and Attention Deficit Disorders/Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.

RJ506 .H9 .G659x 2000

Outcome Measures for Child Welfare Services: Child Well-Being Scales.

HV 741 .M336x 1987

PsycINFO database

A small but increasing number of records in PsycINFO identify articles that include the full-text of a research instrument. Search for appended in "TM Tests & Measures" field.

Research Instruments in Social Gerontology. 3 v. 1984.

HQ 1061 .R44

Tests in Microfiche. 1975 to 1998.

Collection of "unpublished" tests available on microfiche in the Library's Reference Room.  Print index shelved above microfiche cabinet: Ref LB 3051 .T445x

Some tests available in this collection are listed in the ETS Test Link:

Choose advanced search.

Search "Availability" for microfiche.

Conduct another search (e.g. title search) for your topic.

Citations, Reviews, and Abstracts

The following sources can be searched/consulted to identify tests.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Primary review source of and index to published psychological test and assessment instruments. Descriptions of tests include scores, comments, summary, pricing, and publisher.

Available online (covering 1985 - present) via: http://library.csustan.edu/s/purl.php?333

Also available in print (covering 1940 - 2003): Ref / LB 1131 .M46x

Journal Literature

When reporting the results of a study, scholarly journal articles generally identify which specific test instruments, scales, measures, etc., were utilized in the research.

Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. 8 v. 1974-2003.

Ref / BF 431 .G625x

ETS Test Link

An index to 25,000 tests, this index includes descriptions of tests available in the library's Tests in Microfiche collection, as well as providing publication information for selected published tests and citations to articles and other sources for selected unpublished tests.

Family Measurement Techniques: Abstracts of Published Instruments. 1935 - 1974.

HQ 728 .S86 1978

Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures.

Ref / HQ 1055 .B44 1990

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. 3 v.

Ref / HQ 728 .H267 2001

Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures. 1990.

Ref / BF 692 .B38 1990

Test Critiques. 10 v.

Ref / BF 176 .T419 1984

Test Review Locator (Buros)

A free web site which indexes tests reviewed by Buros, the publisher of Mental Measurements Yearbook. Note: This site does not include free access to the reviews themselves. Use Mental Measurements Yearbook via the University Library instead to access reviews.

Testing Adults: A Reference Guide for Specific Psychodiagnostic Assessments. 1985.

RC 469 .T47 1985

Testing Children: A Reference Guide for Effective Clinical and Psychoeducational Assessments. 1984.

BF 722 .T47 1984

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business. 4th ed.

Ref / BF 176 .T43 1997

Tests in Print: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature in Specific Tests. [Index to Mental Measurements Yearbook]

Ref / LB 3051 .T47x

More Strategies for Finding Tests

In addition to the sources listed on this page, try these search strategies to find more on your topic:

  • Browse the shelves in reference and in the general collection for nearby call numbers
  • Find the record (in the Library Catalog) for a source and click on the subject headings for similar resources.
  • Conduct an advanced search in the Library Catalog for key terms from your topic (on one line) and test or scale or measurement on the next (e.g. "adolescents or youth" and "test or scale or measurement").

Finding Journal Articles Referencing Tests

If you know the name of a specific test (e.g. Stanford-Binet or "Alcohol Use Disorders Identification Test"), search for the name of the test to find studies that used that measure. Searching for research studies on a subject may also help identify specific tests that are used to measure a specific topic.

ERIC (education)

ERIC provides citations to journal articles and ERIC documents (government reports, conference papers, etc.) related to research in education. (See above for tips on locating the full-text of tests via ERIC.)

PsycINFO (psychology)

Use the classification codes 2220 through 2229 at the bottom of the search screen to search for research about tests and testing.

The name of specific test instruments used to complete a study are usually found in the "Tests and Measures" section of a record. (See above for tips on locating the full-text of tests via PsycINFO.)

Academic Search Elite (selective coverage of all disciplines)

Include terms such as test, instrument, measure*, or scale to help identify studies which mention which test was used.

PDF Version of this Page

Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help


This document is maintained by: the CSUS Library(wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 06/29/2009