RESOURCES FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS:
A Selective Guide
To find information on graduate schools and the graduate
school experience, consult both print and online sources. There are many
excellent print directories, guides to scholarships, handbooks for writing the
successful thesis, plus Internet sources on funding, test preparation, writing,
and general survival. Be sure to utilize the Graduate School page and the site
for the Institutional Research Board (IRB).
Information on programs in business, education, engineering, law, medicine, and other disciplines.
Graduate Study in Psychology. Reserve BF 77 .G73 2002.
Medical School Admission Requirements, United States and
Canada. Reserve R 745 .A8 2002/03.
Official GRE/CGS Directory of Graduate Programs. 4 v. 16th ed. Ref L 901 .G72.
Published by ETS (Educational Testing Service), this standard
guide is organized by field of study in four areas: (1) Natural
Sciences, (2) Engineering and Business, (3) Social Sciences and
Education, (4) Arts, Humanities, and Other Fields.
Official Guide to ABA-Approved Law Schools. Reserve KF 273 .A87 2002.
Official Guide to MBA Programs, Admissions and Careers. Reserve Ref HF 1131 .O539 7th.
Peterson's Annual Guides/Graduate Study. 6 v. 35th ed. Ref L 901 .P46 2001.
Well-known directory for graduate programs. Issued annually in
six parts: (1) Overview, (2) Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences,
(3) Biological Sciences, (4) Physical Sciences, Mathematics,
Agricultural Sciences, (5) Engineering and Applied Sciences, (6)
Business, Education, Health, Information Studies, Law, and Social
Work. More complete than Web version.
Five sections available online: (1) introduction, (2) deciding where to apply, (3) contacting faculty members, (4) visiting schools, (5) commando tactics while you wait, (6) final note. Good source. Complete guidebook available from The Graduate Group.
Graduate School Handbook: An Insider's Guide to Getting In
and Succeeding. 1998. LB 2371.4 .J47 1998.
Money for Graduate Students in the Biological & Health
Sciences. 2001/03. LB 2337.2 .M6663.
Money for Graduate Students in the Physical & Earch Sciences.
2001/03. LB 2337.2 .M6662.
Money for Graduate Students in the Social & Behavioral
Sciences. 2001/03. LB 2337.2 .M667.
General Funding
Annual Register of Grant Support. Ref AS 911 .A2 A67
2002.
Directory of Financial Aids for Women. Ref LB 2338 .D564
1997/99.
Directory of Grants in the Humanities. Ref AZ 188 .U5 D56
1992/93.
Directory of Research Grants. Ref LB 2338 .D57 1998.
Includes an index by program type, i.e., dissertation/thesis
research support, fellowships, graduate assistantships, etc. Also
has introductory essay, "A Guide to Proposal Planning and Writing."
Comprehensive , annotated site for anyone seeking educational
funding. Covers both print and Internet. A good place to start,
especially for Internet resources. Highly recommended.
Financial Aid for African Americans. Ref LB 2338 .F5643x
1999/2001.
Financial Aid for Asian Americans. Ref LB 2338 .F5644x
1999/2001.
Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans. Ref LB 2338 .F5645x
1999/2001.
Financial Aid for Native Americans. Ref LB 2338 .F5646x
1999/2001.
Financial Aid for Disabled and Their Families. Ref LB
2337.2 .F58 2000/2002.
Financial Aid for Veterans, Military Personnel, and Their
Dependents. 1996. Ref UB 403 .F47 1998/2000.
Foundation Grants to Individuals. 11th ed. 1999. Ref LB
2336 .F599.
The Grants Register. Ref LB 2338 .G7 2002.
"The complete guide to postgraduate funding worldwide."
National Guide to Funding in Arts and Culture. Ref NX
396.6 .N385 6th 2000.
Getting What You Came For: The Smart Student's Guide to
Earning a Master's or a PhD. LB 2371.4 .P48 1997.
Good for "getting in" graduate school as well as for "getting through" grad school. Has chapters on the thesis proposal, thesis writing, plus other topics.
Objective is "to assist students to plan . . . and complete
their theses or dissertations, produce the highest quality research,
write effectively . . ., and improve their lives throughout the
process."
List-serv that provides graduate students with a safe,
graduate-student only forum for discussing a wide variety of issues
related to graduate school, teaching, and becoming PhD's in
humanities-based professions." Provided by H-Net, Humanities and
Social Sciences Online.
The following publications, which provide helpful tips and
suggestions, are in four categories: (1) literature reviews, (2) thesis
proposal writing, (3) general guides, and (4) style manuals. Many of the
general guides also contain valuable assistance on writing the proposal, the
literature review, as well as other information.
Literature Reviews
Writing a Literature Review in the Health Sciences and Social Work
(Health Sciences Writing Centre, University of Toronto)
Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social
and Behavioral Sciences. 1999.
Main Reserve H 61.8 .G35x 1999.
Stockton H 61.8 .G35x 1999.
Thesis Proposal Writing
The Proposal Cookbook: A Step-by-Step Guide to Dissertation
and Thesis Proposal Writing. 1979. LB 2369 .F73 1979.
Proposals That Work: A Guide for Planning Dissertations and
Great Proposals. 1993. Q 180.55 .P7 L63 1993.
General Guides
Completing Dissertations in the Behavioral Sciences and Education.
1985. LB 2369 .L65 1985.
Completing Your Thesis or Dissertation: Professors Share Their
Techniques and Strategies. 2000. LB 2369 .C66x 2000.
Conducting Research: A Preparation Guide for Writing and Completing
the Research Project or Thesis in Criminal Justice, Criminology,
Forensic Science and Related Fields. 1995. LB 2369 .D35x.
Developing and Writing Your Thesis, Dissertation, or Project.
1998. LB 2369 .W286 1998.
Written by William G. Webster, a retired member of the College
of Education (CSUS)who taught research methods for many years. This
is a "book of sound advice about conceptualizing, organization,
developing and finalizing your terminal graduate research." His
companion book is 21 Models for Developing and Writing Theses,
Dissertations and Projects.
Dissertation Handbook: A Guide to Successful Dissertations.
2nd ed. 1993. LB 2369 .N5 1993.
Some of the advice applies to master's theses also.
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology and
Related Fields. BF 76.5 .C645 1993.
Getting What You Came For: The Smart Student's Guide to Earning a
Master's or a PhD. LB 2371.4 .P48 1997.
Graduate Research Guidebook: A Practical Approach to
Doctoral/Masters Research. 3rd ed. 1994. LB 2369 .B24 1994.
Published in Qualitative Report (v. 4, 1996) from the School of
Social and Systemic Studies, Nova University.
Negotiating Graduate School: A Guide for Graduate Students.
LB 2371 .R67 1995.
Secrets for a Successful Dissertation. 1998. LB 2369 .F547 1998.
Of special interest are the following: Appendix A: Action words;
Appendix B: Checklist of items for a research proposal; Appendix D:
Active verbs. The action words/verbs can be useful in providing some
variety for your writing style.
Successful Dissertations and Theses: A Guide to Graduate Student
Research from Proposal to Completion. 1992. LB 2369 .M32 1992.
Surviving Your Dissertation: A Comprehensive Guide to Content and
Process. 1992. LB 2369 .R83 1992.
Theses and Dissertations: A Guide to Writing in the Social and
Physical Sciences. 1997. LB 2369 .T44 1997.
21 Models for Developing and Writing Theses, Dissertations
and Projects. 1998. LB 2369 .W385 1998.
Another book by William G. Webster (CSUS) for those doing
graduate research. "A book of practical approaches, ideas, and
solutions for conceptualizing, organizing, developing and finalizing
your graduate research requirements."
Writing and Defending a Thesis or Dissertation in Psychology and
Education. 1980. BF 76.5 .M36.