* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home
Gender Studies: Internet Resources

Return to Gender Studies/Women's Studies

Comprehensive Sites | Search Engines | Organizations | Statistics
 Health | Safety | Work | Digital Collections

COMPREHENSIVE SITES

Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
An award winning site (University of Maryland libraries) with over 650 links in 16 categories.  Highly recommended for all topics.
http://www-unix.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/links.html

WSSLINKS -- Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
A wide range of links developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries division of ALA.
http://libraries.mit.edu/humanities/WomensStudies/wscd.html

Women's Studies:  Links of Interest
Links to 145 sites, in 15 categories.  Archives, Biographical sites, Book reviews, Statistics are especially helpful.  Rutgers University libraries.
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/womens_studies/links.shtml

Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin System
Links for academic disciplines, videos, an extensive list of organizations, publishers.
http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/

Women's Studies (R)E-sources on the Web
Many links to women's history sites.  Duke University libraries.
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/cyber.html

SEARCH ENGINES AND INTERNET DIRECTORIES

Voice of the Shuttle:  Gender Studies
A searchable, scholarly web site focusing on women's studies and feminist theory.  Includes links to "Men's Movements & Men's Studies" and "Gay, Lesbian, & Queer Studies."  Created by Alan Liu at UC Santa Barbara.
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2711

Librarians' Index to the Internet
A highly regarded searchable directory created by librarians.  Contains nearly 200 gender-related sites (topics:  women, men, gays, lesbians, bisexuals, transsexuals)
http://lii.org

FeMiNa:  A Woman-Focused Information Resource
A search engine that indexes web sites related to women's issues.
http://www.femina.com

WWWomen
"Women reaching women:  the premier search directory for women online."
http://www.wwwomen.com/

ORGANIZATIONS

Now:  National Organization for Women
"Dedicated to creating positive change for women."  Site contains information on current issues.
http://www.now.org

AAUW:  American Association of University Women
Promotes "education and equity for girls and women."
http://www.aauw.org

Feminist Majority Foundation Online
A leading women's rights organization.  Uses research and action to empower women economically, socially, and politically.
http://www.feminist.org

STATISTICS

FedStats
"The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies."  Search by these topics:  women, divorce, marriage.
http://www.fedstats.gov

GenderStats
A database of international gender statistics.  Search by country or look at "World Development Indicators."
http://genderstats.worldbank.org/menu.asp

WIDNET Statistics
A site sponsored by the Women in Development Network.  Provides statistics on women around the world, based on UN data published in 1995.
http://www.focusintl.com/widstat0.htm

HEALTH

The National Women's Health Information Center
A service of the Office on Women's Health in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  Links to federal and private sector health resources.
http://www.4woman.gov

Women's Health Sites
A section of WSSLinks, a collection of web pages created by women's studies librarians and scholars.
http://cc.usu.edu/~fshrode/wss_health.htm

Global Reproductive Health Forum
Interactive electronic forum sponsored by the Harvard School of Public Health.  Information on reproductive health and rights around the world.  Includes a "Teenzone."  Excellent site. 
http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/grhf/

Redefining Liberation:  The Women's Health Project
A site developed by the National Organization for Women Foundation.  This project looks at the health consequences for women who are influenced by fashion, tobacco, and other industries to adopt unhealthy habits.
http://www.nowfoundation.org/health/whp/

SAFETY

Violence Against Women Office (DOJ)
An office of the U.S. Department of Justice.  Provides information about how to decrease violence against women.  The Office awards grants to state and local agencies and organizations.
http://www.ojp.usdog.gov/vawo/

National Domestic Violence Hotline
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice.  Provides links to reports and documents that provide information about how to counteract domestic violence.
http://www.usdoj.gov/domesticviolence.htm

Female Genital Mutilation
A site sponsored by Amnesty International, an organization that views FGM as a human rights issue.  This site provides a description of the physical aspects of FGM and the countries which practice it and discusses strategies for ending the practice.
http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/intcam/femgen/fgm1.htm

WORK

U.S. Department of Labor, Women's Bureau
The goal of this office is to promote the welfare of wage-earning women, to improve their working conditions, to increase their efficiency, and to advance their opportunities. 
http://www.dol.gov/dol/wb/

Women and Business
A section of WSSLinks, a web site created by women's studies librarians and scholars.  This site has 50 links in 7 categories (associations, biographies of prominent businesswomen, directories of women-owned businesses, electronic discussion forums, newsletters, resources for business start-ups, statistical sources).
http://www.csulb.edu/%7Esbsluss/Women_and_Business.html

Sexual Harassment Resources
An award winning site that provides an extensive list of links to sites containing information about federal policies, military and educational institution policies, court decisions, organizations which fight sexual harassment.
http://library.uncg.edu/depts/docs/us/harass.html

Career Center and Internet Resources for Women's Studies Majors
A site created by the Career Center at Portland State University.  Provides many links to internet sites with career-related information for women's studies majors.
http://www.career.pdx.edu/majorwomensstudies.htm

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS (Primary information)

Digital Scriptorium Projects
Collections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.  Includes "Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement," "Civil War Women," and "African-American Women."
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/scriptorium/projects.html

Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment
A site sponsored by the National Archives and Records Administration.  Contains primary sources, activities, and links to related web sites for educators and students.
http://www.nara.gov/education/teaching/woman/home.html

Women's Studies Links of Interest:  Archives on Women
A site created by the Rutgers University libraries.  The archives section provides links to 15 digital collections.
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/womens_studies/links.shtml

 Gifts of Speech:  Women's Speeches from Around the World
A site developed at Sweet Briar College.  Contains the full-text of women's speeches from 1848 (Elizabeth Cady Stanton) to the present.
http://gos.sbc.edu/what.html

Return to Top