|
Gender Studies: Finding Books
Return to Gender Studies/Women's Studies
Library Catalog | Dictionaries,
Encyclopedias, Handbooks | Tests/Assessments
| Research Guides | Book Lists
STRATEGIES FOR USING Library Catalog
| Abortion |
Masculinity |
| Boys |
Men |
| Circumcision |
Sex discrimination against women |
| Clitoridectomy |
Sex role |
| Equal Rights Amendment |
Teenage girls |
| Feminist psychology |
Women |
| Feminism |
Women - employment |
| Gay and lesbian studies |
women - legal status, laws, etc. |
| Girls |
Women's rights |
| Homosexuality |
Women in literature |
| Infibulation |
Women in politics |
Keyword Searching
Keyword searches allow you to combine specific search concepts and unique
words that apply to your topic. You can limit these searches to the title
or subject heading of the bibliographic record. If you find few or no
books that fit your search, limit to "All of the above." Keyword
searching works best when you have identified many possible synonyms/related terms for each of your search
concepts.
Example:
women AND employment
Synonyms/related terms for
women: females, girls, gender,
feminists, mothers
employment: work, workplace, jobs,
company or companies, glass ceiling, etc.
Examples of additional searches:
gender AND
workplace
females AND
glass ceiling
Biography
The International Dictionary of Women's Biography. Ref CT
3202 .I57 1982
International Who's Who of Women. Ref CT 3202 .I58x 1st
Notable Women in American History. Ref 8260 .A27 1999
Notable American Women 1607-1950, The Modern Period. Ref CT 8260 N57
Who's Who of American Women. Ref CT 8260 .W5 v.22
Ethnic Groups
Native American Women. Ref 98 .W8 B38 1993
Chicana Studies Index. Ref E184 .M5 C43x 1992
Latinas! Women of Achievement. Ref E 184 .S75 L354 1996
Notable Hispanic American Women. Ref E 184 .S75 N68 1993
Black Women in America. Ref E185.5 .86 .B542 1993
Contributions of Black Women to America. Ref E 185.86 .C585 1982
Notable Black American Women. Ref E 185.96 .N68 1992
Sports
Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America. Ref GV 709
.E53 1998
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. Ref GV 709 .I58 2001
Encyclopedia of Women and Sports. Ref GV 709 .S44 1996
The Women's Sports Encyclopedia. Ref GV 709 .W589 1997
Women's Studies/Women's History
A Concise Glossary of Feminist Theory. Ref HQ 115 .A53
1997
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender. Ref HQ 1115 .E43 2001
Historical Dictionary of Feminism. Ref HQ 1115 .E65 1996
The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism. Ref HQ 1115 .R68 2000
Women's Studies. Ref HQ 1115 .W645 1989
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues
and Knowledge. Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Women in World History. Ref HQ 1115 .W6 1999
Women's Roles in Ancient Civilizations. Ref HQ 1127 .W654 1999
Chronology of Women Worldwide. Ref HQ 1121 .C617 1997
The Timetables of Women's History. Ref HQ 1121 .G74 1994
The World's Women. Ref HQ 1154 .W95 1995
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories. Ref HQ 1190 .E63 2000
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics. Ref HQ 1236 .5 .U6 E53 1999
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America. Ref HQ 1410 .C85 1996
The 1995 Information-Please Women's Sourcebook. Ref HQ 1406 .I54 1995
Women's Progress in America. Ref HQ 1410 .F76 1994
Handbook of American Women's History. Ref HQ 1410 .H36 2000
American Women's History. Ref HQ 1410 .M378
Statistical Handbook on Women in America. Ref HQ 1420 .T34 1996
American Women. Ref HQ 1421 .A486 1997
Latinas of the Americas: A Sourcebook. Ref HQ 1460 .5 .S76x 1989
Women in the Third World. Ref HQ 1870 .9 .W6548 1998
American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's
History and Culture in the United States. U.S. DOCS LC 2 .8: W84
Law
Women's Legal Guide. Ref KF .W674 1996
Art
An Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West.
Ref N 8214.5 .U6 K68 1998
Dictionary of Women Artists. Ref N 8354 .D53 1997
Literature
The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature. Ref PN 471
.B57 1992
Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe. Ref PN 471 .W565 1997
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory. Ref PN 98 .W64 E53 1997
Spanish Women Writers. Ref PQ 6055 .S63 1993
Women Authors of Modern Hispanic South America. Ref PQ 7081 .C94x 1989
Spanish American Women Writers. Ref PQ 7081 .S6 1990
Contemporary Women Dramatists. Ref PR 736 .C58 1994
The Feminist Companion to Literature in English. Ref PR 111 .B57 1990
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English. Ref PR 111 .S24 1999
American Women Writers. Ref PS 147 .A4
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States. Ref PS 147
.094 1995
Contemporary Women Poets. Ref PS 151 .C67 1998
Feminist Criticism of American Women Poets. Ref PS 151 .S25x 1994
Science
American Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary.
Ref Q 141 .B251 1994
American Women in Science 1950 to the Present. Ref Q 141 .B254 1998
Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures.
Reserve HQ 1055 .S44 1990
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. Ref HQ 628 .T68 1990
Sex and Gender Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures. Reserve BF
692 .B38
An Annotated Bibliography of Twentieth-Century Critical
Studies of Women and Literature, 1660-1800. Z2012 .B13
Guide to Social Science Resources in Women's Studies. Z7961 .023
An Index to Women's Studies Anthologies. Ref HQ 1180 .B76 1994
Introduction to Library Research in Women's Studies. Z7961 .S42
1985
Reader's Guide to Women's Studies. Ref HQ1180 .R43x
Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography. HQ 1233 .W65x
1991
Women's Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography, 1980-1985. HQ1180
.L63x 1987
Women's Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography. Z7961 .S75
Core
Lists in Women's Studies.
Approximately 40 topical lists of books currently in print. These lists
serve as guides to collection development librarians and teaching faculty.
For Girls and Boys
Amelia
Bloomer Project 2002: List of Recommended Feminist Books for Girls.
A list of appealing feminist books for young readers from birth to 18. The
list is sponsored by the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities
Round Table of the American Library Association and is named for Amelia Bloomer,
a pioneering newspaper editor, public speaker, and suffragist.
Eighteen
Highly Recommended Books for Girls.
A list prepared by Random House publishers.
Guys
Read: A Literacy Initiative for Boys
Well-regarded children's author Jon Scieszka has begun a literacy program to
connect boys with books they will want to read. The web site includes a
discussion of reasons boys may not be good readers, suggestions for parents and
teachers, and lists of of books boys like.
Little Miss Muffet Fights Back: A Bibliography of
Recommended Non-Sexist Books about Girls for Young Readers.
Z1037.9 .F45 (published in 1974).
Girls Series Books: A Checklist of Hardback Books
Published 1900-1975. Z1232 mM56 1978.
Return to Top of Page
|