Oxford Music Online

Database Description and Information

Grove Music now Oxford Music Online

The Grove Music Online service has been expanded and is now called Oxford Music Online. While retaining the content of Grove Music Online (including the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the Grove Dictionary of Jazz), the expanded service from Oxford now also provides access to two other key reference works in the field, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Description: Excellent introductions to and overviews of musicians, compositions, styles and other topics in music.

What's Covered: Encyclopedia articles and dictionary entries.

Subjects Covered: Music and Music History

Access to the full-text: All of the articles are immediately available via the Oxford Music Online site.

Dates Covered: Current, updated editions of key reference works covering music from all periods of history.

Help: Help from Oxford Music

Access: Library Website | Databases A-Z | Oxford Music Online

 

More Details

Reference Books/Sets Included:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
The Oxford Companion to Music
The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd ed., revised)

Number of Records:

Grove Music Online: 50,000 signed articles and including 28,000 biographies
The Oxford Companion to Music: 8,000 brief articles
The Oxford Dictionary of Music: 12,500 entires (including 5,000 on composers)

Availability: Available freely on-campus, off-campus restricted to current CSU Stanislaus faculty, students and staff

Platform: Oxford Music Online

CSU Stanislaus URL: http://library.csustan.edu/s/purl.php?856

 

Search Operators

Default search: Boolean AND
Truncation symbol: *
Phrase searching: "phrase" (enclose phrase in quotation marks)
Boolean AND: and
Boolean OR: or
Boolean NOT: not