Getting Started:
- Academic Search Elite
General index to articles published scholarly journals from all academic disciplines, including history.
- Library Catalog
Catalog of books, CDs, scores and other materials available in the CSU Stanislaus Library.
|
Most Comprehensive:
- America: History and Life
Citations to and abstracts of selected research published on the history of the United States and Canada from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes journal articles, book reviews, chapters, and dissertations published from 1954 to the present. Also available via the
previous (ABC-CLIO) interface.
- Historical Abstracts
Citations to and abstracts of journal articles, selected books, chapters, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Also available via the
previous (ABC-CLIO) interface.
- History Journals Search
Simultaneous search of America: History and Life and
Historical Abstracts.
Also available via the
previous (ABC-CLIO) interface.
- WorldCat
FirstSearch database with over 36 million records of any type of material
cataloged by OCLC member libraries: books, musical scores, manuscripts,
videorecordings, cassettes, maps, etc. Includes manuscripts written as
early as the 11th century.
|
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Citations to biographical articles on key historical and other significant persons covered in over
700 important biographical reference works.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective
Index to 1.5 million reviews of over 300,000 books published from 1905-1982, including a summary of at least one review for each book.
- Book Review Index
Citations to reviews of books published in selected academic journals, newspapers and magazines.
- Humanities & History E-Book Project
Full-text of over 1500 books of interest to scholars and advanced students in the field of history. Areas covered include U.S., European, Native American and Middle Eastern history from ancient times to the present.
- Humanities Full Text
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 250,000 articles and reviews of 300,000 books published in over 600 humanities journals from 1984 to the present.
- In the First Person
Index to primary source materials available in over 3,000 historical archives around the country.
Includes information on over 15,000 people, including access to the full-text of 20,000 diary entries, 60,000 letters, and 17,000
oral histories.
- JSTOR
Full-text of older issues (five years or more) from select academic
journals, including 15 history journals.
- Project MUSE
Full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences,
including over 30 history journals. Coverage includes the current and previous year;
backfiles vary.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Abstracts of articles from 375 key popular magazines published from 1890 to 1982.
|
- Politics databases
- Primary Sources
-primary sources vs. secondary sources
-primary sources in the University Library
-primary sources in other libraries and on the Web
|